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Siskiyou County Probation 
Truancy Prevention Efforts 
"Invest in your future today" 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

 

Probation and Siskiyou 
School Districts 
The Siskiyou County Probation 
Department is teaming up with 
schools in your District to improve 
our youth truancy epidemic by 
taking an active role in monitoring 
those youth who are truant from 
their school, and at risk of expulsion. 
Probation also wants to add support 
to the parent(s)/guardians who may 
be struggling with a defiant youth 
who does not want to attend school.  

Truancy: First Step to a Lifetime of 
Problems 
For a growing number of youth, truancy may 
be a first step to a lifetime of unemployment, 
crime, and incarceration. Truancy may be the 
beginning of a lifetime of problems for 
students who routinely 

skip school. Truant students are at high risk of being 
drawn into behaviors involving drugs, alcohol, or 
violence.  

What to expect from Probation 

A probation officer will be notified of a students' 
unexcused absences from the school. That officer will 
attempt to contact the student and the parents and 
offer any additional services in an informal matter 
that can encourage the student to participate in 
his/her education.  

Penalties for parents of a truant student 

If the probation officer is unsuccessful with 
informal attempts, the officer may file a 
petition with the District Attorney's Office and 
the parents can be prosecuted pursuant to 
Section 601.4(b) of the California Welfare and 
Institutions Code. Penalties for conviction 
include:  

• Court Fines 
• Court ordered parent education and 

counseling program. 

• Parents may also be prosecuted for 
violation of Section 272 of the California 
Penal Code, and be ordered to serve up 
to 1 Year in jail and pay a fine of 
$2,500.00 or up to 5 year's probation.  
 

 

Penalties for truant student 
If a student continues to be truant 
from school and refuses to 
participate in any informal programs 
probation has ordered. The probation 
department will file a 601 Welfare 
and Institution Code petition with 
the Court and, if declared a ward of 
the Court, the student will be subject 
to: 

• 20 to 40 hours of community 
service work 

• A $50.00 fine 
• Attendance in a Court- 

approved truancy prevention 
program 

• Suspension or revocation of 
driving privileges pursuant to 
Section 13202.7 of the 
California Vehicle Code.  

Contact Us 
Siskiyou County Probation 
Department 
269 Sharps Road 
Yreka Ca 
530-841-4180 
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